The Reigning Olu of Warri

His Royal Highness, 

OGIAME Ikenwoli, CON 

A Brief History of the Itsekiri People:

The Itsekiris are an ethnic group of Nigeria’s Niger Delta area, Delta State. The Itsekiri presently number under a million people and live mainly in the Warri North, Warri South and Warri South West local government area of Delta State, on the Atlantic Coast of Nigeria. Significant communities of Itsekiris can be found in parts of Edo and Ondo states and in various other Nigerian cities including Lagos, Sapele and Port-Harcourt. Many people of Itsekiri descent also reside in the United Kingdom, the USA and Canada.

The Itsekiris traditionally refer to their land as the Kingdom of Warri or 'Iwere' as its proper name – which is geographically contiguous to the area covered by the three Warri local government areas and their monarch is known as the Olu of Warri (Ogiame Ikenwoli). Traditionally, the Itsekiris are predominantly fishermen, living in the riverine areas of the Niger Delta in Nigeria. The Warri Kingdom is a key centre of Nigeria's crude oil and natural gas production and petroleum refining and the main town Warri (a multi-ethnic metropolis) forms the industrial and commercial nucleus of the Delta State. The modern day Itsekiris are mainly Christian (Protestant and Roman Catholic) by religion. 

  1. Ginuwa I (1480- 16th century)
  2. Ogbowuru I (16th century)
  3. Irame I (16th century)
  4. Ojoluwa I (16th century)
  5. Esigie I (16th century)
  6. Atorongboye I A.K.A. Sabastian (1570- 1620 AD
  7. Atuwatse I A.K.A Oyeomasan Don Domingos (1625-1643)
  8. Oyenakpara I A.K.A Obanighenren Don Antonio Domingo (1643-1653)
  9. Omoluyere I (17th century)
  10. Abejoye I A.K.A Matias (17th century)
  11. Akenjoye I A.K.A Ludivico Domingo (1675-1709)
  12. Omagboye I (18th century)
  13. Akengboye I A.K.A Agostino Sabastiao Octobia (1730-1732)
  14. Atogbuwa I A.K.A Manuel Octobia (1734-1760)
  15. Erejuwa I A.K.A Sabastian Manuel Octobia (1760-1795)
  16. Akengbuwa I A.K.A Eyeolusan Joao (1808- 14 June 1848)
  17. Ginuwa II A.K.A Emiko Ikengbuwa (7 February 1936- 8 January 1949)
  18. Erejuwa II A.K.A Wilson Ayoronmitsi Gbesimi Emiko (24th March 1951-17 December 1986)
  19. Atuwatse II A.K.A Godwin Toritseju Emiko (2 May 1987- 5 September 2015)
  20. Ikenwoli I A. K. A Godfery ikenwoli Emiko (12 December 2015-)